Skip to content

This thing is like that thing

February 21, 2010

A couple of weeks ago, I watched “The Guild” on Netflix. Originally, this was a web series, but it just came out on DVD so I was able to watch seasons 1 and 2 on my TV in just over an hour. I’m not a gamer, I’ve never played World of Warcraft or anything like it. The extent of my hardcore gaming experience is from dating a gamer in college. I am thoroughly steeped in geek culture, however, so I still know a fair amount about the gaming experience despite not picking up a controller since I junked my original Nintendo.

To a relative outsider, this show was still hilarious, and I found a lot I could relate to. “The Guild” is about a team of MMORPG players who play together online and then wind up meeting in real life. Most of their interaction is in the context of WoW, so they know each other only by their online handles. Hrm…that aspect sounds kind of familiar. If someone yells out “Dainty!” or “Fuego!” on a crowded street, I’m about 10 times more likely to turn around than if someone yells  “Mandy!” If it weren’t for Facebook I’d have a hard time coming up with the real names for about 75% of the people I know.

The Guild is also a pretty diverse bunch. They have a mom, a fashionista-type, a typical geek girl, a douchetastic young’un and a couple of geeky dudes. They range in age from teenagers to middle-age. They have little in common save for the game they all play. Huh. Where else does this kind of thing happen?

They have their own kind of language that they use regarding aspects of the game, which they tend to talk about even when they’re not playing it. A lot of it relates to gear and strategies. It may not be entirely clear to many outsiders what they’re going on about, but it’s clear they’re passionate about it and it takes up a lot of their time and is always on their minds. *scratches head* There are other things like that, right?

Finally, there’s this kind of business/management aspect to the group. They talk about trading gold for things that will benefit the Guild, and their leader talks about strategies and the things they can do to meet their in-game goals. It’s a fun game, but it’s also about interacting with and managing other people, and building plans to keep the team afloat.

So even though I’m not a gamer, I totally related to this show. Now if I could just figure out what it is in my life that shares so many things in common with gaming…

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 9:50 pm

    I’ve played a little bit of WoW, but not enough to be in a guild or anything. I love The Guild though, i think the characters are just hilarious.

Leave a Reply

